Board of Directors

The Board of Directors provides oversight, guidance, leadership, and strategic direction for the not-for-profit corporation the Alpine Club of Canada Toronto Section.

Alex Perel

As for the past-Chair to the ACC Toronto Section Alex now chairs the Leadership and Training Committee. As an avid ice and rock climber, skier, and mountaineering enthusiast he brings a wealth of both technical and organizational knowledge the section and its members.

Bryan Thompson

Bryan Thompson started climbing in 2000. He is an avid mountaineer and enjoys leading new trips or climbing with old friends. He joined the Alpine Club in 2005 and has been a board member since 2010. When he’s not attending to Club matters you can catch him at Bon Echo enjoying the climbing.

Kevin Liu

Pierre Lee

Mandy Cheng

Outdoor adventure is an accurate title for Mandy, she is an expert rock and ice climber, downhill skier, and mountain biking. Mandy has been with the Alpine Club for over 17 years and leads both new and old climbers on a new adventures every day.

John Vellone

John is a proud father and husband, an avid rock climber, a keen ice climber and enthusiastic mountaineer.
John serves on the board of the Alpine Club of Canada, Toronto Section as a liaison between the club and the Ontario Alliance of Climbers on environment and access issues across the Province.  John regularly meets and negotiates with public land managers and private land owners to secure and maintain climbing access. When not climbing or being a dad, John works as a lawyer in Toronto specialized in energy law with a particular passion for designing legal instruments that will facilitate the development and growth of renewable energy projects across Canada.

Ryan Hobson

Clayton Vergeer

Pia Thurlow

Pia Thurlow has been a member of the ACC Toronto Section Board since 2015.  She has served as Secretary and Chair of the Film Festival Committee.  She is currently our section representative to the National ACC Board.  Pia is a Project Manager at Canada’s largest General Contractor and in her spare time likes to hike and climb and generally pursue anything outdoors.

Krista Bowman